The Hon Trevor Khan MLC

Deputy President of the Legislative Council and Chair of Committees

Member of the NSW Legislative Council

Trevor Khan

The Hon. Trevor Khan MLC was first elected to the Legislative Council in March 2007, and is the current Deputy President and Chair of Committees.

Trevor Khan was born and raised in Wollongong, completing his tertiary education in Sydney after obtaining a Bachelor of Jurisprudence and a Bachelor of Laws at the University of NSW.  Whilst completing his Law degrees Trevor worked as a personnel officer and then, having completed his degrees, worked as an industrial relations officer with a major Australian company in both Sydney and the Latrobe Valley, Victoria.

In 1985, Trevor moved to Tamworth, where he practiced as a lawyer principally in the areas of Criminal and Family law. Trevor became an Accredited Specialist Advocate and was well known about the court circuits in the north west of New South Wales, particularly as a former member of the Family Issues Committee of the NSW Law Society.

After being elected to the Legislative Council in March 2007, Trevor Khan has held several significant parliamentary positions including his appointment as Chair of the Legislative Council’s Privileges Committee, Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters, and currently as the Deputy President and Chair of Committees of the Legislative Council.

In the last Parliament, Trevor Khan was a Member of the General Purpose Standing Committee that conducted an inquiry into power privatisation in NSW, as well as delivering a report on the privatisation of prisons in New South Wales. Trevor was also a Member of the NSW Parliamentary Working Group on Marriage Equality which introduced the Same-Sex Marriage Bill 2013, and served as a Member of the Legislative Council Select Committee on the Partial Defence of Provocation which resulted in amendments to the law of provocation including the abolition of the homosexual advance defence.

Trevor currently serves as a Member of the NSW Parliamentary Working Group on Assisted Dying which introduced the Voluntary Assisted Dying Bill 2017; the Standing Committee on the ICAC; the Committee on the Ombudsman, the Law Enforcement Commission and the Crime Commission; and the Standing Committee on Law and Justice. Trevor has also previously served as a Member of the Standing Committee on Social Issues.

Trevor Khan is passionate about the future of his community and believes that each community should possess a high level of basic services including education, health and law & order.

Parliament House Office

NSW Parliament House
Macquarie Street

Phone: (02) 9230 3491
Fax: 02 9230 3502