The Hon Michael McCormack MP

Member for Riverina

Michael McCormack

Born and raised in the Riverina, Michael McCormack is an exceptional representative for the great communities and people of his electorate.

Prior to becoming The Nationals’ member for Riverina in 2010, Michael started his professional life with a cadetship for the local newspaper The Daily Advertiser back in 1981. He quickly climbed the ranks and was appointed editor-in-chief at 27 years of age, becoming the youngest person in that position in Australia at the time.

In addition to his role at the newspaper, Michael was appointed Justice of the Peace in NSW in 1999 and owned and operated his own media and publishing small business is Wagga Wagga for eight years until becoming a federal member.

Michael’s time at the newspaper gave him insight into the world of politics and he became the champion of many community issues – the most significant to be saving the local Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) Base from closure.

During his first term as a federal member of parliament, Michael served on committees including the Committee for Regional Australia and the House.

Michael also played an instrumental role in moving the Disallowance Motion against the Murray-Darling Basin in 2012, advocating against the proposed takeover of GrainCorp to American multinational Archer Daniels Midland in 2013 and fought hard to protect local businesses and farmers from the importation of New Zealand apples.

Following the 2013 election, Michael was appointed as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance until September 2015 were he moved to work alongside The Nationals’ Leader and Deputy Prime Minister, Warren Truss, as Assistant Minister for the Deputy Prime Minister.

Due to Truss’ retirement, a reshuffle in February 2016 saw Michael become the Assistant Minister for Defence – a portfolio with key ties to the Riverina with the RAAF base in Forest Hill and the Home of the Solider at Kapooka.

Upon being re-elected into the 45th Parliament, Michael was appointed Minister for Small Business. Michael was elected leader of The Nationals in February 2018 and in turn became Deputy Prime Minister of Australia, serving in both roles until June 2021.

Michael is an unwavering advocate for his local community and together with his wife Catherine has raised three beautiful children in the Riverina electorate.

Parliament House Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: (02) 6277 7820
Fax: (02) 6277 8563

Electorate Office

Suite 2
11-15 Fitzmaurice Street
Wagga Wagga NSW 2650

Phone: 02 6921 4600
Fax: 02 6921 5900