Austin Evans MP


Member for Murray

Austin has proven track record of serving the community and solving their problems and has a wealth of knowledge regarding the Murray Electorate, its industries, groups and departments. 

Austin grew up in the region on a dry land sheep and wheat farm and attended primary school in Matong and high school in Narrandera.

After finishing school Austin studied engineering before working for what is now SunWater based in Ayr where he managed projects throughout the irrigation regions of Queensland.

In 2000, he moved back to the Riverina and joined the Kondinin Group running a project on tillage equipment for the GRDC and in 2003 started his own small business. 

Austin has worked for Coleambally Irrigation since 2004, currently working as the General Manager of Operations. 

Austin was elected to the Murrumbidgee Shire Council in 2012, he became the Deputy Mayor of the Shire in 2013 and Mayor in 2014. He fought tirelessly against amalgamations and secured a better deal for his local community with the Shire merging with Jerilderie Shire, rather than Griffith City as originally proposed, for form the Murrumbidgee Council. 

At the recent elections, Austin was re-elected and is currently the deputy chair of the Riverina and Murray Regional Organisation of Councils. 

Previously Austin has also worked in various farm, labouring and communications jobs across the Riverina and Queensland, as an Assistant Tourist Officer in Narrandera and in West Wyalong for the Uniting Church as a scripture teacher and youth worker. 

Austin is married to Demelza, who grew up on a dairy farm at Finley and studied nursing at CSU in Wagga. Together they have four boys, aged from 8 to 18 – all attending Coleambally Central School.

Austin won the seat of Murray at a by-election after long-serving MP and former deputy leader of the Party Adrian Piccoli retired.

Griffith Office

NSW Government Offices
104 -110 Banna Avenue

Phone: 02 6962 6644
Fax: 02 6962 7725

Deniliquin Office

228 Cressy Street

Phone: 03 5881 7034
Fax: 03 5881 7839