Christine Ferguson, Andrew Stoner and John Cameron are three of the National Party members who were admitted to the Order of Australia in 2018.


The NSW Nationals want to extend our heartfelt congratulations to five members of our great party who were named in the Queen’s Birthday Honours this year. Those people deemed worthy of admittance to the Order of Australia demonstrate the very best of what we all, as Australians, should hope to be.

Christine Roslind Ferguson AM
“For significant service to the community of Gundagai, to local government, and to parliament and politics in New South Wales.”

Service includes:
Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council: Administrator, 2016-2017; Councillor, 1991-1995.
Director, Page Research Centre, current.
Former Deputy Chairman, Riverina Regional Library.
Founding Member, Riverina Tourism.
Member, Murrumbidgee Catchment Committee, 9 years.
Former Member, Riverina Regional Development Organisation.
The National Party of Australia
National: Federal President, 2012-2015; Life Member, 2015; Founder and President, Women’s Council, 2007-2012.
New South Wales Division: Trustee, since 2014; State Chairman, 2007-2012; Vice-Chairman, 1997-2007.
Member, Central Council; Secretary, Gundagai Branch, since 2014 and 2004-2010; Treasurer, Gundagai Branch, 2006-2010; Chairman, Hume Electorate Council, 2004-2007; Member, Gundagai Branch, since 1975; Member, NSW State Executive.

John Randall Sharp AM
“For significant service to the people and Parliament of Australia, to the aviation industry, and to the community.”

Service includes:
The National Party of Australia
Honorary Federal Treasurer, 2000-2017.
Parliament of Australia: Minister for Transport and Regional Development, 1996-1997; Member for the Division of Hume, 1993-1998; Member for the Division of Gilmore, 1984-1993; Deputy Leader of the House, 1991-1993; Chairman, Coalition Task Force on Drugs, mid-1980s.
Deputy Chair, Regional Express Holdings, since 2005; Former Director, Airbus Group Australia Pacific, 2000-2015; Director, Skytraders, 2005-2013; Chairman, Aviation Safety Foundation of Australasia, 2003 to 2010; Former Chairman, Pel Air; Former Director, Eurocopter International Pacific; Former Director, Australian Aerospace.
Director, Tudor House Foundation, since 2009; Board Member, Climate Change Authority, since 2015; Member, Northern Australia Transport Study, since 2016; Trustee, John McEwen House, current; Patron, JB Sharp Cup Regatta Series, current; Chairman, Power and Data Corporation, 2004-2015; Chairman, Parsons Brinckerhoff Advisory Board, 2004-2010; Director, France-Australia Chamber of Commerce and Industry, 2004-2009; Co-Convenor, Relay for Life, Southern Highlands Branch, Cancer Council of New South Wales, 2005-2009.
Winifred West Schools’ Foundation: Chairman, 2005-2008; Director, 2001-2005.
Councillor, Member, Young Shire Council, 1981-1985.
Awards and recognition includes: Recipient, Earl Page Award, National Party of Australia, 2009; Recipient, Presidential Citation for Aviation, Flight Safety Foundation, United States of America, 2006.

Andrew John Stoner AM
“For significant service to the people and Parliament of New South Wales, to Australia-China business relations, and to the community.”

Service includes:
The National Party of Australia
Leader, The New South Wales Nationals, 2003-2014.
Parliament of New South Wales: Deputy Premier, 2011-2014; Minister for Trade and Investment, 2011-2014; Minister for Regional Infrastructure and Services, 2011-2014; Minister for Small Business, Tourism and Major Events, North Coast, 2014; Member Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety 1999-2002; Range of Shadow Minister roles, 2002-2011; Member for Oxley, 1999-2015.
Founder, Andrew Stoner and Associates, since 2015; Senior Advisor, Australia China Entrepreneurs Club, current; Former Patron, Australia China Economics Trade and Culture Association; Deputy Chairman and Independent Non-Executive Director, China Dairy Corporation Limited, since 2016. Chairman and Independent Non-Executive Director, Bojun Agriculture Holdings, since 2017; Independent Non-Executive Director, Global Fortune Investment Limited, since 2017. Senior Advisor Yuhu Goup (Australia), since 2015. Ambassador, Vinnies CEO Sleepout, since 2017. Member, Advisory Board, New South Wales Leaders, since 2015; Senior Adviser, Moelis and Company (Australia), since 2015.

John Lachlan Cameron AM
“For significant service to the community through a range of roles in the disability and the not-for-profit sectors, and to politics and public policy.”

Service includes:
Rotary District 9685: Governor, 2009-2010. Member, Rotary Foundation, current.
Rotary Club of Wahroonga: Treasurer, current; President, 1998-1999; Paul Harris Fellow, 2003; Member, Paul Harris Society, current; Member, since 1985.
Achieve Australia: Chairman, since 2013; Director, since 2009; Director, Achieve Australia Foundation (formerly Hornsby Challenge), 2004-2008; Founding Board Member, Novus Foundation, since 2006.
Knox Grammar School: School Bursar, 1994-2004; Governing Councillor and Treasurer, circa 1985-1994.
Wahroonga Preparatory School: Governing Councillor and Treasurer, circa 1980-1994.
Uniting Church in Australia: Member, Uniting Church (NSW) Trust Association Limited, since 2012; Member, Uniting Church (NSW and ACT) Synod Insurance Committee, circa 1985-1990.
St. John’s Uniting Church Wahroonga: Chairman, Parish Council, current; Past Chair, Council of Elders; Elder, since 1967.
National Party of Australia (NSW)
Treasurer, Central Councillor and Member, Central Executive, current; Member, Constitution and Ethics Committee, current; Branch Officer; Life Member, since 2016; Member, since 1961.

James Litchfield OAM
“For service to primary industry, particularly to merino sheep and beef cattle breeding.”

Service includes:
Farmer/Grazier, ‘Hazeldean’, Cooma New South Wales (also known as Hazeldean Pty Ltd), 1940s until retirement; Trustee, John and Betty Casey Research Trust, 1999-2018.
New South Wales Stud Merino Breeders Association: President, 1980-1982; Vice-President, 1983-1986; Councillor, 1965-1979.
Angus Society of Australia (now Angus Australia): Member, since 1962; Inaugural Member, National Beef Recording Scheme.
Awards and recognition includes: Recipient, Helen Newton Turner Medal for contribution to genetic improvement in the Merino Industry, 1997; Fellow, Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics, 1995; Life Governor, New South Wales Stud Merino Breeders Association, 1984; Recipient, Howard W. Yelland award, ‘For services to the Beef Industry’, 1986.