Preschool will be more accessible for families in Leeton and Ashmont with the Nationals in Government investing $667,000 on upgrades.

NSW Nationals Upper House Member Wes Fang said the funding was thanks to the Capital Works Grants program, which increases the number of places in community preschools and gives families more options for early childhood education.

“It is so important for families in regional parts of the State to have accessible, affordable and high quality options for their child’s early education,” Mr Fang said.

“I have been advocating directly for places like Wagga Wagga’s Ashmont and Leeton with the Minister for Education and Early Childhood Learning, Sarah Mitchell, and I am so pleased that these preschools have secured this funding.

“As the State’s worst drought on record continues to take its toll, the Nationals in Government are standing shoulder-to-shoulder with our regional communities and investing in these types of vital services to help families.”

“Every child deserves access to a top-quality early childhood education, because we know how important the early years are for their social, cognitive and emotional development.”

Wes Fang MLC

KU Ashmont Preschool’s existing centre will get $317,000 for renovations and upgrades, while Leeton Preschool will get $350,000 for extensions and upgrades.

NSW Nationals Minister for Education and Early Childhood Learning Sarah Mitchell said since 2018 the NSW Nationals in Government had allocated $62.1 million to increase community preschool places in areas of high demand.

“Services across the State that receive Capital Works Funding can use it for a variety of service improvements, including opening new centres, extending and renovating existing sites and in some cases, investing in new vehicles to support the continuation of mobile preschool services,” Ms Mitchell said.

“We implemented the Capital Works Grants program in 2013, and since then we have expanded preschool capacity across NSW by thousands of places.”

For more information, visit the Department of Education website.