Long-service medal presentation

Mar 11, 2018

LONG-SERVING members of The Nationals have been given medals from Member for Riverina Michael McCormack throughout the past month.

Mr McCormack presented the long-service medals to members of the party in West Wyalong, Barmedman and Tallimba earlier this month and also presented medals to members in the Wagga Wagga area on Tuesday including Wagga Wagga’s Barbara Parnell, who joined the Party branch 68 years ago in 1949, and West Wyalong’s Jean Maitland, who became a member of The Nationals 66 years ago in 1951.

Mr McCormack said it was an honour to hand medals to 45 dedicated people and thanked all of them for their important service to regional and rural Australians.

“It is great to be able to catch up with so many members of The Nationals – they truly are the lifeblood of the Party,” Mr McCormack said.

“They are the ones who front up on election day – rain, hail or shine – to support people such as myself, so we can represent the interests of rural and regional Australians at a State and Federal level.”

New South Wales Government’s newest parliamentarian, The Nationals’ Wes Fang MLC, was on hand to help present medals at the Wagga Wagga presentation.

The West Wyalong presentation was held on Thursday, October 5, at the Bland Shire Council and the Wagga Wagga presentation was held on Tuesday, October 31 at the Seniors’ Community Centre.

Those who received medals are as follows:

Barmedman Branch 

Beverly Dunn 1954 

William Dunn 1954 

Ian Moore 1981

Marilyn Moore 1981

Kenneth Morton 1972 

Nancy Morton 1972

Patricia Wells 1983

Ganmain Branch

Helen Hatty 1970

Graeme Hatty 1970

Murrumbidgee Branch

Ivan Schache 1967

Peter Simpson 1972

William Worland 1965 

Narrandera Branch 

Barry Brill 1976 

Janet Brill 1976 

Leslie Hatty 1970 

Dorothy Hatty 1970 

Heather Smith 1975 

Colin Smith 1975 

Colin Payne 1973

West Wyalong Branch

Beatrice Payne 1973

Jean Maitland 1951

Margaret Leslie 1988

Janice Cattle 1977

Colin Cattle 1977

Jacqueline Bolte 1959

Kaye Payne 1973

Peter Payne 1973

William Sibra 1984

Anne Sibraa 1984

Tallimba Branch

Edith Hardie 1973 

Glen Hardie 1973 

Dinah Staniforth 1983

Peter Staniforth 1983

Laurin West 1967

Wagga Branch 

Deidre Henham 1975

Terry Henham 1975

Colin Knobel 1967

Gwenyth Knobel 1967

Les Morton 1965

Rhona Morton 1965

Barbara Parnell 1949

Annie Robinson 1983

Bill Robinson 1983

Norman Whyte 1975

Loraine Whyte 197