The Lithgow community will benefit from $270,000 in funding to support recreation in the city thanks to the NSW Nationals in Government.

Bathurst Nationals MP Paul Toole announced Lithgow City Council had been successful in its application for the construction of the Farmers Creek Shared Cycleway.

The funding, under the NSW Government’s Infrastructure Grants program, will allow the council to build a shared pedestrian and cycleway along Farmers Creek.

“The project includes two creek bridges, 850 metres of shared cycleway and 732 metres of off-road pathway,” Mr Toole said.

“Recreation is important for quality of life for local residents and the cycleway will encourage community engagement in the environment, healthier lifestyles and also help to attract visitors to the city.

“These are real tangible, long-term benefits to the wider Lithgow community.”

Thirty-two community organisations in NSW have been awarded a total of $4 million, to fund local projects that build or upgrade facilities across sport and recreation, arts and culture, disaster readiness and essential community infrastructure.

Mr Toole said the Infrastructure Grants program funds important projects across the State and the NSW Nationals in Government were proud to support community organisations that work tirelessly to create resilient, healthy and connected communities.

“The projects they’re delivering will boost participation in sport, recreation and arts, social inclusion and disaster resilience – making a real difference in people’s lives across NSW,” Mr Toole said.

Since 2013, the NSW Government has funded over 350 community projects worth $82 million under the Infrastructure Grants program.

This year the program expanded to fund projects that build community connections by supporting drought-affected communities and youth, mental health and domestic violence services.

The grants are made possible by the Clubgrants Category 3 Fund which re-invests profits from registered clubs’ gaming machines into community infrastructure projects across three key areas:

  • Arts & Culture
  • Disaster Readiness & Community Infrastructure
  • Sport & Recreation