NSW Nationals Member for Coffs Harbour Gurmesh Singh has congratulated Mitchell Harvey from Marine Rescue NSW Woolgoolga and the 23 finalists for the 2019 Rotary Clubs and Districts of NSW Emergency Services Community Awards.

These dedicated emergency services workers, with more than 466 years of combined service, come from many walks of life, representing Fire and Rescue NSW, NSW Ambulance, NSW State Emergency Service, NSW Rural Fire Service, NSW Volunteer Rescue Association and Marine Rescue NSW.

“I congratulate Mitchell Harvey from Marine Rescue NSW Woolgoolga for the great honour of being a finalist,” Mr Singh said. “It’s people like Mitchell who exemplify the community spirit of our emergency crews. These awards are an opportunity for the community to reflect on the tireless efforts of our local emergency services.”

Minister for Emergency Services David Elliott said the awards shone a light on the enormous contribution of our emergency workers.

“Emergency services workers and volunteers give so much of themselves to the community and ask so little in return. We are indebted to all our unsung heroes and will never take for granted their commitment to protecting the community,” Mr Elliott said. “This year’s finalists have almost five centuries’ combined service and I thank them all for their exemplary efforts.”

In addition, emergency services Commissioners will each nominate an outstanding individual for the $1000 Dorothy Hennessy OAM Emergency Services Youth Scholarship to be decided by a Rotary NSW panel.

Winners will be announced at an Awards Presentation Dinner on August 2.