Young Nats supported in the Upper House - NSW Nationals

Welcome to the NSW Nationals

Thank you for taking a moment to visit our website.

Unfortunately, your web browser is outdated and no longer supported.

For the best viewing experience, please update your web browser.

Tell your friends about The Nationals

There's a lot going on around The Nationals and the easiest way to stay in touch is by registering your email address. We send weekly roundups of all our activity as well as special briefings for important events and policy announcements.

Nats MLC Ben Franklin showed his support for the NSW Young Nationals last week by tabling a motion in the Upper House. While relaying his congratulations to the new executive, Ben also spoke of the “robust and fearless debate” during their recent Annual Conference in Corowa, which celebrated 50 years since their first conference back in 1965. He also congratulated the new executive team (pictured) led by Chairman Dom Hopkinson.

Ben was voted into the NSW Legislative Council, or Upper House, at the last election. He has been a long-time supporter of the Young Nationals, and still a mentor to many of its members. The NSW Young Nats passed a significant milestone this year in Corowa, celebrating the half-century since their first official meeting of the minds.

Several of our other MPs travelled to Corowa to show their support, including Trevor Khan, Sarah Mitchell, Bronnie Taylor, Fiona Nash, Troy Grant and Katrina Hodgkinson, who is the 2015-16 Patron of the Young Nats. Ben, being suitably impressed by the debate during the Conference’s formal proceedings, moved a motion last week in the Legislative Council, as follows:

That this house:

a)    Notes that on 27th and 28th of August 2015 the Young Nationals held their annual conference in Corowa, NSW;

b)    Notes that the Conference was held exactly 50 years after their first conference in Corowa in 1965;

c)    Congratulates the Young Nationals on their robust and fearless debate on a range of issues that are important to young people in regional NSW;

d)    Congratulates Chairman Dominic Hopkinson, Vice Chairmen Jessica Price-Purnell and Sam Pearn and all other newly elected state executive members of the NSW Young Nationals; and

e)    Congratulates the Young Nationals on turning 50 and wishes them well for the next fifty years.

This is a fitting tribute to the quality of the debate held at the Young Nats conference, which is now enshrined in Hansard.

Read more feature stories