Sun and sand at Young Nats Conference - NSW Nationals

Welcome to the NSW Nationals

Thank you for taking a moment to visit our website.

Unfortunately, your web browser is outdated and no longer supported.

For the best viewing experience, please update your web browser.

Tell your friends about The Nationals

There's a lot going on around The Nationals and the easiest way to stay in touch is by registering your email address. We send weekly roundups of all our activity as well as special briefings for important events and policy announcements.

Every year the Young Nationals Conference is an eagerly anticipated event on the Young Nats calendar, and not just for Young Nats. With a reputation for excellent functions, entertaining debates, policy discussions and fabulous company, the 2016 Conference lived up to all its hype, so much so that a cohort of honorary members also crashed the party.

Held in the beautiful coastal town of Forster, a record number of delegates made the trip from across the State, debating motions that will progress to the senior Conference in May. Motion topics close to the hearts of many young regional people such as mental health, education and rural services generated extensive discussion.

Saturday’s schedule also featured Question Time with six of our State MPs, Katrina Hodgkinson, Sarah Mitchell, Michael Johnsen, Bronnie Taylor, Leslie Williams and Ben Franklin. Delegates were given the unique opportunity to ask the MPs the tough questions, ranging from the CSG debate to dealing with negativity, to their roles and associated portfolios.

The Young Nationals Gala Dinner on Saturday night came complete with spectacular lake-front views, a gorgeous sunset and food and drink to boot. Guests were treated with a motivational address by Wendy Machin, who stressed the importance of having a go, no matter how daring or daunting the challenge.

Sunday’s session was all business with delegates casting their votes for the new Young Nationals Executive Council at their AGM. Chairman Dom Hopkinson passed the baton of Chairman to Jessica Price-Purnell, Women's Council Vice Chair and the 2015 state candidate for Cessnock. In her address to Conference, Jess pledged to use her wealth of experience to further the Young Nat's movement across the state.

Congratulations to the entire Young Nationals Executive Council:

Vice Chairs: Sam Pearn and Nathan Furry

Policy Officer: Alex Fitzpatrick

Communications Officer: Les Wells

Publicity Officer: Josie Coles

Membership Officer: Brendan Seed

Secretary: Zac Smith

Treasurer: Liz Veasey

North West: Tom Harris

North Coast: Brendan Pearce

Mid North Coast: Breelin Frederick

West: Aaron McDonnell

Metro: Bryce O’Connor

South West: Dom Hopkinson

South: Harriet Nixon

Read more feature stories