School safety boost for Cootamundra electorate - NSW Nationals

Welcome to the NSW Nationals

Thank you for taking a moment to visit our website.

Unfortunately, your web browser is outdated and no longer supported.

For the best viewing experience, please update your web browser.

News & Video

Tell your friends about The Nationals

There's a lot going on around The Nationals and the easiest way to stay in touch is by registering your email address. We send weekly roundups of all our activity as well as special briefings for important events and policy announcements.

School safety boost for Cootamundra electorate

Member for Cootamundra Katrina Hodgkinson has welcomed a $5 million program to install additional school zone flashing lights at schools with multiple entrances and greater road safety risks. 

An additional 8 sets of flashing lights will be installed at schools throughout the Cootamundra electorate to improve road safety for families travelling to and from school.


Schools that will be receiving an additional set of flashing lights are:

  • Cowra Public School,
  • Young Public School,
  • Young North Public School,
  • Coolamon Central School,
  • Cootamundra Public School,
  • Temora High School,
  • Young High School and
  • Hennessy Catholic College.


“This will build on the NSW Government’s initial rollout which ensured all eligible schools across NSW had at least one set of flashing lights,” Katrina said.


“Children are some of our most vulnerable road users, and we know school zone flashing lights are an effective way of warning drivers to slow down to improve the safety of our kids.”


The new locations for school zone flashing lights were selected by a risk assessment model which takes into account a number of factors including approach speed, pedestrian numbers, traffic volumes, and heavy vehicle traffic volumes.


All eligible schools with multiple busy entrances were consulted in the process of selecting school zones for this program.


Flashing lights are funded through the Community Road Safety Fund, where all speed and red light camera fines go directly towards vital road safety programs.


School zones are enforced on government gazetted school days to ensure operation dates and times are consistent and easy to follow.

Read more feature stories