Riverina roads receive more funding - NSW Nationals

Welcome to the NSW Nationals

Thank you for taking a moment to visit our website.

Unfortunately, your web browser is outdated and no longer supported.

For the best viewing experience, please update your web browser.

News & Video

Tell your friends about The Nationals

There's a lot going on around The Nationals and the easiest way to stay in touch is by registering your email address. We send weekly roundups of all our activity as well as special briefings for important events and policy announcements.

Riverina roads receive more funding

The Nationals’ Federal Member for Riverina, Michael McCormack, has announced a boost to the Riverina’s allocation of Roads to Recovery funding.

A total of $1.105 billion has been made available to Councils across the country as a result of the fuel excise indexation legislation passed by Parliament last week.

“This is great news for regional roads right across the country, as it will boost productivity throughout the Riverina and more importantly improve safety,” Mr McCormack said.

More than $77 million will be added to the Riverina Roads to Recovery budget between 2014 and 2018, improving local roads across the 13 Local Government Areas.

A newsletter from Mr McCormack will arrive in Riverina mailboxes this week with figures for the 2015-16 financial year Roads to Recovery funding. At the time of printing, the figures were current for that year, although with the recent announcement those numbers will now be significantly higher.

“Riverina Councils were already receiving twice the amount of annual Federal roads funding and this announcement is a further boost to those figures,” Mr McCormack said.

“This is part of The Nationals’ commitment to empowering local Councils to make the best decision on their roads budget at a local level; not in Canberra.”

Continued on the next page is the table of the figures for the Riverina. Council

New Total Allocation 2014-15 to 2018-19

Bland Shire Council


Carrathool Shire Council


Coolamon Shire Council


Griffith City Council


Gundagai Shire Council


Junee Shire Council


Leeton Shire Council


Murrumbidgee Shire Council


Narrandera Shire Council


Temora Shire Council


Tumbarumba Shire Council


Tumut Shire Council


Wagga Wagga City Council




Read more feature stories