Nominate now for Ministers' awards for women in local government - NSW Nationals

Welcome to the NSW Nationals

Thank you for taking a moment to visit our website.

Unfortunately, your web browser is outdated and no longer supported.

For the best viewing experience, please update your web browser.

News & Video

Tell your friends about The Nationals

There's a lot going on around The Nationals and the easiest way to stay in touch is by registering your email address. We send weekly roundups of all our activity as well as special briefings for important events and policy announcements.

Nominate now for Ministers' awards for women in local government

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government, which celebrate extraordinary women and highlight the contributions they make in councils across NSW. 

Minister for Local Government Paul Toole encouraged local councils and communities to nominate the women who have inspired and represented them.


“We want to recognise the hard work of women working in local councils in NSW, and those women making a positive difference in their local areas,” Mr Toole said.


“I encourage communities to shine a light on those unsung heroes in their local area and nominate women in local government who should be celebrated.


“The Awards recognise the contributions of elected representatives and senior staff as well as women who are making positive contributions to local government in less prominent roles.”


The Awards are a joint initiative between the Minister for Local Government and the Minister for Women.


Minister for Women Pru Goward said the Awards would inspire younger women to consider a role in local government and make a difference in their communities.


“Recognising the achievements of women is part of the NSW Government’s drive to encourage diversity in local government,” Ms Goward said.


“Whether it’s women in leadership positions, women making a difference behind the scenes at their council or trail-blazing women in non-traditional roles such as engineering, we want to celebrate their achievements.”


Nominations close on Monday 16 January 2017.


The Awards will be presented at a function to celebrate International Women’s Day at Parliament House on 7 March 2017.


Further details of the categories and how to nominate are available on the Office of Local Government’s website at

Read more feature stories