Local champion to chair Far West initiative - NSW Nationals

Welcome to the NSW Nationals

Thank you for taking a moment to visit our website.

Unfortunately, your web browser is outdated and no longer supported.

For the best viewing experience, please update your web browser.

News & Video

Tell your friends about The Nationals

There's a lot going on around The Nationals and the easiest way to stay in touch is by registering your email address. We send weekly roundups of all our activity as well as special briefings for important events and policy announcements.

Local champion to chair Far West initiative

Minister for Local Government Paul Toole today said the Far West Initiative is moving forward, announcing a new Advisory Committee focussed on strengthening remote communities.

“The NSW Government recognises that local communities in Far Western NSW face unique challenges and we are determined to properly address these complex issues,” Mr Toole said.

“Our Far West Advisory Committee will connect representatives from each Far West council and the State and Federal Governments to address the complex needs of these communities.

“I am pleased to announce former Member for Murray Darling John Williams will chair the committee. “These remote areas face very different local issues to their coastal metropolitan counterparts and John has an in-depth understanding of the area and the issues that matter.”

Mr Williams said his early focus would be working with the eight Far West councils to develop the next tangible steps forward and lay the foundation for a whole of government approach.

“This is about bringing real change and better outcomes for the local communities and ratepayers in our region. We know what we’ve got at the moment isn’t working as well as it could be and I am determined to see things improve.”

The Far West Initiative connects councils, NGOs and key State and Commonwealth Government agencies to develop innovative solutions for the unique challenges faced by communities in Far western NSW.

The eight councils include Balranald, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Central Darling, Cobar, Walgett and Wentworth local government areas as well as the Unincorporated Area.

Read more feature stories