Advisory Council builds for the future of ag - NSW Nationals

Welcome to the NSW Nationals

Thank you for taking a moment to visit our website.

Unfortunately, your web browser is outdated and no longer supported.

For the best viewing experience, please update your web browser.

News & Video

Tell your friends about The Nationals

There's a lot going on around The Nationals and the easiest way to stay in touch is by registering your email address. We send weekly roundups of all our activity as well as special briefings for important events and policy announcements.

Advisory Council builds for the future of ag

Building for the future of the state’s primary industries sector is the top of the agenda for Minister Niall Blair, at the inaugural meeting with his recently appointed NSW Primary Industries Advisory Council (PIMAC) today.

Mr Blair outlined the vital role of the Council in providing high-level strategic advice across a range of primary industries sector to ensure the state continues to lead the nation.

“Primary industries in NSW contribute $12 billion to the economy every year – but we want this to grow – by bringing to together some of the industry’s best minds we can continue to support the growth of this valuable sector,” Mr Blair said.

“This team is best placed to provide the best advice on our primary industires – because they are living and breathing the sector every day.”

The Council was established in 2012, its members include industry leaders from a broad range of industries, providing strategic advice to the Minister on:

•           The impact of government policies, legislation, services and fees to the sector

•           Emerging issues, opportunities, and their impacts on the future operation and development of primary industries;

•           Exploring, developing and resolving issues through stakeholder consultation;

•           Providing in-depth analysis of the impact of priority issues on primary industries as well as broader government and community objectives; and

•           Provide strategic advice on biosecurity issues impacting NSW.

The Chair of Minister Blair’s Advisory Council will be farmer and orchardist, Robyn Clubb who will be supported by foundation Chair and beef producer Lucinda Corrigan, Professor Jim Pratley; water policy professional Perin Davey;  pig producer Edwina Beveridge; 2014 National Rural Woman of the Year Pip Job;  2015 NSW Rural Woman of the Year Cindy Cassidy;  citrus grower Vito Mancini; Huon aquaculture founder  Frances Bender;  Auscott Chair David Anthony; Paraway CEO Jock Whittle; Australian Farm Institute’s Mick Keogh, dairy farmer Simone Jolliffe, RSPCA board member Peter Wright, Chairman of the Gwydir  Valley Irrigators Joe Robinson and Oz-Group Chair Gurmesh Singh.

Read more feature stories